The battle of the bulge

1452960175897I have been overweight for most of my life. I was that kid that was bullied in school and called fat by my peers. I had a very unhealthy view of food and it wasn’t until I met Nathan that things started to change.

Nathan has been into health and fitness since he was a teenager. He has been lifting weights for over ten years, but is constantly changing and perfecting his diet and workouts.

When Nathan and I started dating, I spent six days a week at the gym doing cardio, while Nathan lifted weights. I had lost about thirty pounds, but I needed to step things up. This is where weight lifting entered my life.

Over our four year relationship we have been changing and improving our diets and gym routine. This is what I currently do:

Diet:

  • Breakfast- protein shake (1 scoop pea protein), 1 banana, 2 scoops ice, water, 2 Tb cocoa powder, peppermint extract
  • Snack- 1 square 100%baking chocolate (it took me a very long time to enjoy the flavor)
  • Lunch- 1 cup beans, 1tsp coconut oil, 3oz grilled chicken breast, 5.5 oz mixed veggies
  • Snack-3oz chicken
  • Pre-gym food- .5 cups brown rice, 1 tsp coconut oil with cinnamon and salt
  • Post gym food- protein shake
  • Dinner- 3oz chicken breast, 5.5 oz veggies
  • Dessert- 1oz 100% baking chocolate

Exercise:

  • Monday- Quads, Butt
  • Tuesday- Back, Biceps
  • Wednesday- Rest Day or Cardio and Abs
  • Thursday- Hamstrings, Butt, Abs
  • Friday- Shoulders, Abs
  • Saturday-Chest, Triceps
  • Sunday- Rest Day

I will write a post about my specific exercises in the future. I hope this gives you a good place to start on your weight loss adventure!

Until then, I highly recommend reading articles on BodyBuilding.com. (I am not affiliated with them in any way).

 

 

Leave a comment